Piano, Composition, Musicology Department

Music Theory Division

Before 1967 the theoretical musical training of the students was carried out by the Division of Musical Theory, History and Composition. The formation of the national musicology science and education is connected with the work of famous musicologists of their days Yu. Letetsky, M. Minenkova, M. Shifrin, S. Nisnevich, L. Moukharinskaya. They are all graduates of the Moscow and St. Petersburg Conservatoires in the class of world-famous researchers of music I. Sposobin, L. Mazel, K. Koushnaryov, B. Levik and others. From the moment of foundation in 1968 of independent Divisions of Musical Theory (Head – K. Stsepantsevich) and Musical History (Head – G. Glouschenko) the research and methodical activities in the sphere of musicology became much more animated. A notable event of musicology of the period was publication of “The History of Belarusian Soviet Music” (Minsk, 1971).

Consolidation of the scientific and pedagogical personnel of the Music Theory Division took place in the 1980–90s. Today, it includes Doctors of Musicology, Professors E. Doulova, R. Serguiyenko, Doctor of Musicology, Assistant Professor N. Shimansky, Candidates of Musicology, Assistant Professors T. Titova (Head of the Division), O. Savitskaya, E. Kurakina, N. Arutiunova, A. Tihomirova, L. Zapevalova and others. One of the main scientific directions of the Division became studying of historical and theoretical problems of the Belarusian musical culture, and also researches into actual issues of theoretical musicology, problems of musical forms, genres, sound-pitch organisation of music, melodies, styles, polyphony, musical psychology and social science.